CONNECTION REFUSED – CONNECT(2) AWS S3 Paperclip Development Error

In the last day I have been trying to set up an AWS S3 Bucket where I can upload my assets – mainly images from my web apps. I had some difficultly with some error where I could not find the answer for a long time – eventually I arrived at a solution.

The error?

CONNECTION REFUSED – CONNECT(2) FOR “xxx-DEV.S3-WEBSITE-EU-WEST-1.AMAZONAWS.COM” PORT 443

Every stack overflow post seem useless, and all stated the same thing about setting defaults etc.

  config.paperclip_defaults = {
    :storage => :s3,
    :s3_credentials => {
      :bucket => ENV['AWSBucketName'],
      :access_key_id => ENV['AWS_ACCESS_KEY_ID'],
      :secret_access_key => ENV['AWS_SECRET_ACCESS_KEY']
    }
  }

None of that really helped, though. My server was based in Ireland, as is my web app – so I think the solution was quite UK/Europe specific. Mainly I had the host name incorrect. Here was the line missing from my paperclip.rb file (solution was found here) :

Paperclip::Attachment.default_options[:s3_host_name] = 's3-eu-west-1.amazonaws.com'

Adding this and making sure the bucket was set up for Ireland was the answer. Took a while but I finally got there.

Leave a Reply

